Roman-Catholic Parish Church
Original architecture of the Roman-Catholic Parish Church of the Assumption of the Virgin Mary has been partly preserved up to now and this is the testimony that the church was built in the 14th century but we do not know the exact years. The church is a three-naved pseudo-basilica; the polygonal ending of the presbytery (sanctuary) was added at a later date. A chapel added to the north side of the presbytery was originally dedicated to archangel St. Michael , now it is a sacristy. On the northern side of the church St. Barbora's chapel was added and consecrated in 1395.
The most beautiful and finest part of the church is its portal on the south side. The relief over the most artistic portal is one of the oldest sculpture - plastic art in Slovakia. It represents the Coronation of the Virgin Mary, God's mother. The front part of church - the presbytery has rich lierne vault dating to the period of renovation in mostly Baroque style in 1771. The vault of the presbytery is also richly decorated : the motif of the Holy Spirit and angels was painted by master Felix Dabert in 1887. The Baroque choir built in 1789 is decorated with classical stucco.
The original Gothic altar was replaced by Renaissance one in 1621. The leading figure always remained the patroness of the parish church, the Virgin Mary. The current altar was made to order by Štefan Koštialik,| a priest, in the workshop of master Dominik Demetz from Groden-St. Ulrich in Tyrol in 1887 during an extensive renovation of the church in 1886-1887. The pulpit, dating from 1886 is the work of Július Fuhrnabb, a carver from Spišská Nová Ves .
The most precious sculptural group Crucifixion : the Cross, the Virgin Mary, Our Lady of sorrows, and St. John was originally situated on the beam of the triumphal arch. The beam was removed and the sculptural group is now situated in the aisle next to the southern portal. This unique work was produced by the workshop of Master Pavol of Levoča in 1520.
In the presbytery above the sacristy is a panel painting depicting tortured Christ and the Virgin Mary, Our Lady of sorrows dating from about 1500. It used to be a part of an old altar of the Virgin Mary, Our Lady of sorrows and was made by master Mikuláš (Nicholas) from Levoča.
There are several gems in the parish church. The 42 centimetre-tall reliquary cross from Mikuláš Gallicus from Siena date from the first half of the 14th century. Of great value are also crosses from the 15th century. A monstrance from the beginning of the 16th century was made by Antonio, a goldsmith from Košice. A glided silver chalice made by Ján Kolbenhayer from Levoča , dating to 1795 is 25 cm tall. The bronze baptistery from 1549 is one of the latest baptisteries from an outstanding bell founding workshop in Spišská Nová Ves. It is decorated by motifs of Crucifixion, men's heads and winged Angels and-has Renaissance elements.
Comparing its architectural elements with the elements of churches built in the surrounding towns we can assume that it must have been built by the same masters as the parish church of St. James and old Minorite church in Levoča.